• Certified Dementia Communication Specialist

    Here it is all the INFO you need!

  • You Found it The INFO Section

    Here are the Nuts & Bolts - All the INFO you will need to make the decision to become a

    Certified Dementia Communication Specialist.

    Course Summary

    This certification builds on the foundational concepts of the Dementia RAW Method, Empathy, and Improv. These concepts are put to test with Dementia Perception Challenges, Self-Reflection, Facilitated practice of the improv rules and The Care Plan Alternative.

    Offered in two different formats (online and in person), the CDCS encourages you to dig deep within yourself, trudging through the four pillars of empathy and the four main rules of improv. Tami and Cathy encourage vulnerability and open discourse with the participants in order to learn from each other and their experiences.

    The Care Plan Alternative is a tool that helps you to work through The Gifts a Person with Dementia offers us to help family members and staff to see past their own agendas, to work on making the person with dementia look good.

    By immersing yourself in this type of work, you will gain new perspectives and insights that will guide you in confidence, knowledge, and empower your communication with the person living with dementia.

    Finally, as a student and alumni of this program, you will be invited into a closed Facebook community that keeps you connected with other students, informed of new information, the ability to ask questions of Tami & Cathy and access to upcoming alumni only special events.

    16 CEU's

    Provided for the Following Professions:

    • Social Work
    • LPN & RN
    • Physical Therapy
    • Occupational Therapy
    • Speech Therapy
    • Nursing Home Administrators
    • Activity Professionals
    • Certified Dementia Practitioners
    • Certified Senior Advisors
    • Approved by Continuing Education Institute of Illinois

    Class Room Options

    OPTION 1 - In Person 2 Day Intensive

     

    This option is perfect for the student that would like to spend 16 full hours with us!!! The benefit to this is that you get everything completed in 2 Full Days!

     

    IMPORTANT THINGS TO KNOW:

    • Upon signing up for the class you will receive the course manual and Dementia Perception Challenges.
    • You will need to do at the very least 3 Dementia Perception Challenges prior to coming to the class.
    • Final Project is required and you will receive the specifics in class.
    • Currently, most 2 Day Intensive's are being held in Northwest Indiana.   
    CURRENT SCHEDULE:
    WANT THE 2-DAY INTENSIVE IN YOUR AREA?
    • Reach out to us: SDTI@DementiaRAW.com   OR  Call us at: (219) 649-1732

     

    OPTION 2 - Online Classroom

    This option is perfect for the student that is not able to get to one of the 2 Day Intensive locations. This course is a self-paced program.

     

    IMPORTANT THINGS TO KNOW:

    • The reading material, case studies and mid term are provided to you in a virtual, online classroom.
    • The information on how to log into the classroom will be provided to you once you sign up and pay for the class.
    • There a 3 MANDATORY Calls that you must attend to receive your certification.  See Call Schedule Below.
    • You are required to complete 3 Dementia Perception Challenges.
    • Final Project is mandatory for certification.
    CALL SCHEDULE:
    • The calls are offered on an alternating basis on FRIDAY's
    • Call 1 - Held on the 1st & 3rd Friday's of every month.  
    • This call is 1.5 Hours Long
    • 1:00pm EST | Noon CST | 11:00am MST | 10:00 PST
    • Call 2 - Held on the 2nd & 4th Friday's of Every Month
    • This call is 1.5 Hours Long
    • 1:00om EST | Noon CST | 11:00am MST | 10:00 PST
    • Call 3 - Held on the 2nd & 4th Friday's of Every Month
    • This call is 1 Hour Long
    • 3:00pm EST | 2:00pm CST | 1:00pm MST | Noon PST
    The calls are held on a rotating basis so you can plan your schedule to be on the calls. This could take you 2 weeks to complete the calls, or 3 weeks to complete the calls or more. It is up to you.
     
    We have created this call schedule so that you can fit it into your schedule. We understand that life happens and there is no time limit as to when you need to get the calls finished.
     
    Once the calls, the coursework, mid-term, Dementia Perception Challenges and final are completed you will be granted your CDCS.
  • Now YOU Should be the Star in Your Life!

    We know this is a lot of information to process. We welcome all your questions.

    Please fill out the form below.

    Ask away.

    Fill out the form below with your questions about the certification program.

All Posts
×